7-ingredient acorn squash soup

I don’t know about you, when it starts to look like this outside…


I go into permanent shiver mode, put on wooly socks and a sweater and crank the heat (sorry husband).

Although, I’m well aware that living in Canada means that it should have started snowing in August (I kid, kind of), I’m glad it decided to truly hold off for as long as it could (we’ve practically had very little snowfall, so far).

I promise I will be prepared for the time when that big snowfall comes because snow never hurt anyone – especially if I double up on the socks.

To be prepared, when my toes aren’t in wool sock (or even when they are), I like a big bowl of soup to warm me up on these frigid days.

So, to continue keeping these toes warm, I came up with an acorn squash soup that has only seven ingredients, that’s sure to please your taste buds and your tummy.

The husband might even get lucky and I’ll turn the thermostat down a degree.

7-Ingredient Acorn Squash Soup


Serves: 3 – 4
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 30 – 40 minutes

7 Ingredients: (start counting them – minus S&P because it’s more for taste!)

  • 1 small organic acorn squash (about the size of a small melon), peeled, deseeded and cubed
  • 1/2 yellow/sweet onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp marjoram
  • 2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Start but cutting squash in half and scrape the seeds out. Then begin to peel it (I understand this type of squash has deeper ridges, but just get in there and get as much as you can – a little peel never hurt anyone, either ;)).
  2. In a medium to large pot over medium heat, add a splash of oil (I used canola), add the garlic and onion, and saute for 5 minutes, until tender.
  3. Add the cubed squash to the pot, along with the liquids and spices (hold the salt and pepper until the end of cooking time).
  4. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for approx. 30 minutes.
  5. Once the squash is tender, remove from heat and either leave soup chunky or use an immersion blender to puree it.
  6. Season with salt and pepper.


The simplest soup I’ve ever made (in terms of prep and ingredient list) and the most blown away I’ve been at how something so simple can turn out so good!

If you don’t find me enjoying this soup, then the next best place is to check the sock drawer – I’m sure I could find a way to make myself fit.

Warning: After eating this soup, it might make you reconsidering going to buy those wooly socks – trust me, you’ll still need them…unless you decided to triple or even quadruple the recipe.

Now there’s an idea…