out with the old, in with the new

On new years eve (in the late afternoon), the husband and I had sat down on the patio (feet in the sand) at the very restaurant where we were married to enjoy a beverage,


look out at the beach,


and write our goals for the new year.

**note: above – those are actually pictures from my wedding**

It was the best way to reflect on the year we just had and make a plan for the year ahead.

Times like this are why I put blogging on hold and just live.

I never really fully appreciated the saying, “I have no time,” until I felt like it was all I could say. Between cramming for exams and packing to leave on vacation for a couple of weeks, I could barely fit in anything else…and I didn’t mind. It was very fitting for the end of the year – just enjoy my time and what I was doing in that moment.

Now that it’s a new year, I have new focuses and plans, and blogging is definitely in there. I like being busy, but I’m ok with having a bit of time – especially to get a post in! 😉

I hope that 2012 is a great year for everyone. I have a feeling it will be the best year yet.

I feel like I have so much to share, but for now I’d like to finish with a collection of photos from my cruise with my husband and his family and also some from our travels around Florida (the husband and I were Floridian junkies – we went from Fort Lauderdale to Sarasota to Orlando to Jacksonville, and then hit some of those spots again!)

My 2011 ending


[our ship]


[family dinner – same spot, same time every night!]


[port in st. thomas]


[view of st. thomas]


[one of the formal nights]


[‘ty and char, grand turks’]


[enjoying one of many coconuts!]


[enjoying amazing mojitos in puerto rico]


[the night i got chosen to go onstage in a magic show – whole other story!]


[towel art 1]


[towel art 2]


[towel art 3]


[enjoying the bahamas]


[bluest of blue in the bahamas]


[salad beasts that i never got sick of!]


[last dinner on the ship]


[new year’s eve in florida]