sans christmas decorations and what to do next year

I don’t feel very festive…let’s just get that out there. The closest thing I have to even being a Christmas decoration is a wicker wreath in the shape of a star. I’m not kidding, look…


But, you can hardly consider even this a Christmas specific decoration because I love stars, so they stay all year long, AND it’s sitting in the corner of the spare bedroom…behind the door. #lifeandchristmasfail

I’m not the Grinch though, I swear! But, while we’re on that topic…does anyone know when it airs on TV? I may not be the Grinch, but the movie is awesome.

[source]

I just can’t justify putting decorations up when we won’t even be here on Christmas to enjoy them. Seems counterproductive, don’t you think?

Which is why I vow to decorate next year instead. It may sound crazy to be thinking about decorating next year, when this year hasn’t even finished, but this is why I’m rightfully a type A – I like to plan things.

Let’s start with a Christmas tree.


[source]

I’ll probably just opt for a fake one. It’ll lessen the chance of any squirrels residing in there ;)! And if you don’t know what I’m talking about, then you have not watched one of the funniest Christmas movies, ever (and yes, the husband and I have already watched it).

I also want to do some sort of advent calendar. I don’t know about you, but I automatically think of the calendars that come with the horrible little chocolates, yet, we still got them every year. I’d like to go a step above this (which isn’t that hard to do) and create my own. Insert Mrs. Martha Stewart wannabe…


[source]

I saw this idea (via Pinterest) with the little stockings as the advent – brilliant! I’d probably put the good advents in my sock stockings…sorry a year in advance hubby!

Also, lights.


[source]

I never thought I’d be a light lover, but I am. Maybe I’m loving lights more because I don’t have any, but I drove by some tonight that I absolutely loved. I asked the husband if he’d go for a walk with me one night to stealthly takes pics of them. I posted the pic above because they are closest to what the lights looked like – but outside, of course. Twine on the brick with lights in the shape of stars. When I do post the pic, I bet it’ll be nothing like you picture. Either way, super cool and rustic, which seems to be what my style has evolved to.

Since I’m not decorating this year, I think that’s a solid start for next year. And now I have a year to work on it (read: leave it to the last minute).

*****

Please ignore my lack of posting. I am currently in the brink of exams. 2 done, with 3 to go. I am hating life, but it will be worth it in the end. But, if someone wouldn’t mind crawling into my brain and putting the information there to save me from actually reading it all, it’d be greatly appreciated!


6 Comments on “sans christmas decorations and what to do next year”

  1. Don’t worry, I have no Christmas festivity in me this year either! I just.. don’t feel like it. With the new pup, we feel like putting up a tree this year would be too much! So.. we aren’t. And we haven’t brought any of our Christmas decoration up to use either. I don’t think its happening. Not this year.

  2. Char!

    I began reading your blog this summer after finding you on Angela’s blog! You’re adorable! Thanks for your lovely posts and good luck on those exams! You’ll finish STRONG!

    much love, Jasper Naomi


Leave a Reply

