have a [meal] plan

When I should have been hard at work doing assignments and finishing up lab reports and doing every textbook reading I’ve managed to fall behind on, I was meal planning instead.

I realize it is now Monday, and that the week started today (or yesterday, depending on how you or your calendar likes it!), but with all the hecticness (word?) that’s been taking place over this last week, I’ve slipped up and hadn’t found time to post.

Of course this ‘lack of time’ is what fueled the idea to start meal planning in the first place. I’m organized in other areas of my life, but for some reason, not with meals. So, I took it upon myself (challenge accepted! – if you’ve ever watched How I Met Your Mother then you know what I’m talking about), to give this whole meal planning a ‘go’ and see if it worked for me.

The Plan


Because I have a tendency to make a list for everything, naturally, that’s where I started with the meal plan. I broke it down into 3 categories:


By distinguishing between what I already had to work with and what I wanted to have this week, it allowed me to narrow ideas down a bit. And then, as you can see, the last list is for groceries, which I put after the recipes were selected.

Note: when I say ‘meal planning’ I actually just mean dinner because the husband isn’t home for lunch anyways, dinners can be made into leftovers for lunch and I’m a pretty simple eater for most of the day. I also adding in a ‘comments’ spot so I could put notes for myself to help with dinner ideas for that particular day.


Monday: I have night class and still don’t really know where microwaves are on campus, so until I figure that out, I just bring cold meals (I tried bringing a warm meal on campus one time and just ate it cold and it was disgusting, so never again). So you can always guarantee Monday’s and Wednesday’s meals to be very, very simple.

Quinoa Salad with Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Kale and Red Onions (omitting the cranberries)

Tuesday: I am pretty excited for this one because I’ve wanted to make some crispy tofu for some time now. Since I don’t have school on Tuesday’s, I made sure to have a good meal for this night.

Pan Fried Tofu, Kale and Stir-Fried Noodles

Wednesday: Another cold meal day so I plan to just make a cold wheatberry salad with carrots, green onions, mango and whatever other veggies are in my fridge, served with a balsamic vinaigrette.


Thursday: Angela’s amazing foods always manage to sneak into my mouth each week, so as soon as I saw the following recipe I knew the hubby would love it and would make great leftovers the next day!

Vegan Enchiladas with Cilantro Avocado Cream Sauce

Friday: Since I have school until 5:30pm today, which means I won’t get home until after 6pm, I decided that this was a no-cook night. Hence, the enchiladas the night before to be turned into leftovers served over salad. BOOM. Done!

Saturday: I was so excited about this meal (along with Thursday’s) because I had heard Colleen talk about this in one of her podcasts before. So, when I was googling for a good split pea soup recipe and saw hers posted, I knew what was on the menu this week! And if you don’t know who Colleen is, then check out my Read/Watch section. Oh, and I’m so excited to use liquid smoke for the first time. It smells amazing.

Vegan Split Pea Soup


Sunday: My hubby is a big pizza lover, and I knew I wanted to attempt making my own vegan pizza dough, so what better time than the first week of meal planning! I hope I can touch on my Italian side (read: I’m not Italian) for uno momento!

Perfect Vegan Pizza Crust

I’ll let you know how they turned out in a week!

Have an amazing Monday!

7 Comments on “have a [meal] plan”

  1. That is quite the intense meal plan you have in that first picture up there. I commend you for making the time to put that together. I have been slacking really badly on themeal plan front. Wah.

  2. Not only is it incredibly organized, color coded, and well planned, it’s in a sheet protector?! Can you teach me how to be organized? I jot down recipe ingredients on a post it or take a picture wiht my phone! 🙂

    • It HAS to be in a sheet protector because I swear, anything in the kitchen even remotely close to the sink gets water on it. I don’t know who taught me to wash dishes or my hands, but it’s like a bird bath (ie: not pretty haha)

  3. Oh how cool! Did you use a program or did you whip that up yourself? I admire your ability to be organised. Can you teach me? hehe.

  4. You KNOW I love this post! You took meal planning to a whole new level! LOVE it! And LOVE lists 🙂

  5. […] Which is why I vow to decorate next year instead. It may sound crazy to be thinking about decorating next year, when this year hasn’t even finished, but this is why I’m rightfully a type A – I like to plan things. […]


Leave a Reply

