fighting the winter blues

I know, I know…it’s hardly ‘winter’ and aren’t ‘blues’ a little too early?

I wish I could say yes, but unfortunately, they’re already starting to get to me. On Monday’s, Wednesday’s and Friday’s I get out of my one class at 5:20pm, and thanks to that finish time, my winter blues are in full swing.

5:20pm before daylight savings was alright; sun was still setting and was light enough out that I could walk across campus feeling safe. 5:20pm after daylight savings feels like midnight. On Monday, the moon was already out…the MOON!


So let’s just say, I’m not taking it too well 😉

Yesterday, although I was in a good mood to people, I didn’t feel good inside. I honestly felt like my body was sad – and I know it’s because of the time change and season change.

So, what can I do about it?!

1. Workout.



The hubs even said this himself yesterday when I was feeling blue: “you’ll probably feel better after you workout,” where I proceeded to proclaim…NO! But, he was right, I did feel a lot better last night after running. It might also had to do with the fact that I busted out a good interval run vs. just a steady pace, but lets just give him the credit instead 😉

2. Make majority of foods good and healthy ones.



I don’t know why it took me so long to make the connection that when I eat good, I feel good. I remember (in my younger days – sorry, just wanted to say it!) that I would eat bad and then immediately regret it (literally down to the second after finishing). Sometimes the husband would even try to prevent this from happening by saying, “you know if you eat that what will happen.” Yeah, yeah, once again he was right.

And this honestly goes hand-in-hand with #1 because at least if I’m eating good and can’t fit in a workout, then I still feel ok. Because I know when I used to eat like crap and maybe workout a bit, my self-esteem was crap and that definitely contributed to the winter blues.

3. Make time to do the things you love.


For me, right now, that means baking. I don’t know if it’s because I like the end result (eating copious amounts of cookies or cupcakes – but trust me, these count for #2 because I use “healthy sugars” – ok, so whatever, they aren’t technically healthy, but the amount of baked goods I do consume counteract the vast amount of veggies I also consume – I’m such a contradictory failure still, I know! – annnd, let’s see how long I can make this run-on sentence…).Today I made a point of sneaking in some time to bake cookies, since I completed an assignment. Balance is key, people!

4. TRAVEL!


This one honestly is the icing on the cake. If I can skip out on winter for even a week, this takes away the annoyance of winter for at least a few weeks following my return. Plus, it gives you something to countdown to if you do have a scheduled vacay in the future, like say, a cruise!

And honestly, even writing this post lifted my spirits a little bit.

And, if anyone can figured out how to delay the sky turning pitch black before 5:20pm, you can take my spot on that cruise ship!

Question of the day: How do you stay happy during the winter??


One Comment on “fighting the winter blues”

  1. Facelifts always help … I have been thinking about it too lately! Looks good 🙂


Leave a Reply

