six months

Today my wee little blog turns six months old!! Conveniently, it’s also World Vegetarian Day. Go blog and veg!

[source]

And that, my friends, is ‘sheepy birthday.’ You know you’re laughing inside right now.

Who knew that when I signed up my blog, that six months would pass like that….like that! I didn’t. But here it is. Can I get some honesty out there??

Let’s hope you said yes, because here it goes! I wish I would have put more time and effort into my blog in the past 6 months, but it’s also good opportunity to realize what I wish I would have done, and fix it.

I wanted to establish more routine and rhythm and haven’t managed to do that…just yet. With that being said, I plan to keep going and stay true to it, and hopefully develop that rhythm!ย Although 6 months is still somewhat new, I still have more to accomplish and do. But, I’m ok with that – it’s a work in progress ๐Ÿ˜‰

Keeping with the moving forward theme, it’s time for some October goals. I’ve been seriously slacking on the goal front – I’ve actually been slacking on a lot lately (do those chapters really need to be read for chemistry?!). So this is my attempt to get back on track and keep this train a-chuggin’!

  • Have the most amazing second anniversary with my husband.
  • Study at least 2 hours for each midterm (or more if needed).
  • Start meal planning and meal budgeting –> less eating out, more eating in.
  • Have readily available meals (like soups, stews, desserts that can easily be frozen ;))
  • Run 3 times a week, weights 2 times a week.
  • Cutback on Starbucks (every ounce of me is disappointed in making this goal visible, but intervention is needed) – once a week, twice at most!
  • Find a volunteer position

I think that’s a pretty good start. I don’t want to commit to too much (because if one had to get cut above, let’s be honest, it’d be the Starbucks one :P).

What are your goals for the month?!?! Am I missing anything important? Is it bad that I have to ask my invisible audience that?!

*****

In spirit of World Vegetarian Day, I thought I’d leave some links with you that are all veggie related!

I love veggies and animals, so the less animals you can eat, the better!

Have a great weekend and hope your start to October is an amazing one (and yes, I’m in comfy and a blanket because the weather is really proving itself autumn)!

13 Comments on “six months”

  1. Oh I know what you mean about cutting down on Starbucks! Although, the only Starbucks in Australia are in the Eastern States and not where I am in Perth, but just coffee in general. We have a coffee machine at home, but I’m always just too lazy to make one in the morning and prefer to go via a coffee place in the morning on my way to work. I keep trying to remember that if I didn’t do that, it’d be about $100 a month I would save… Eeek! Looks bad when you put it like that.

    Anyways, I like your October goals! They seem very realistic and well thought out. As for missing things… maybe have fun? I like to add that to my goal lists ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That IS a good thing to add to goals!! Coffee is sooo different in Australia!!! I remember when the hubby and I lived there I did training at a bakery/coffee shop for one day and the coffee alone made me realize I couldn’t do it! I would go back and work there in a heartbeat though, just to get back there. Maybe we should cut back on coffee together lol

      • You’re on. I’m going to try and challenge myself to cut back on the amount of money I spend of coffee outside of my own house and then try and decrease the amount I drink in general. Though, these days, it’s more chai lattes I’m addicted to!

        Oh wow! How long ago did you live here? Where abouts?

  2. Lili says:

    I’m a long time lurker, and I thought I’d actually comment. I love your blog, please keep it up! Please keep talking about school, it’s nice to see someone change paths completely, even going back for a second undergrad degree. It gives me a little bit of hope when I start to think that engineering might just not be the right thing for me ๐Ÿ˜€

    I cut out Starbucks cold turkey twice this year. First in January to frappucino season. The half off fraps between 2-5pm in May were my downfall. Then I quit again cold turkey 7 weeks ago and I’m still going strong. I also cut out diet coke at the same time. The headaches were killer, but it’s nice not to be addicted anymore.

    I got a milk frother/heater from David’s Tea, and have been making my own lattes and tea lattes. It may have been $80, but after a month of skipping starbucks, it was paid off easily. Plus I love making my friends lattes when they come over!

    • I do like that idea and thank you for commenting!! I think I could get great use outta something like that. See, that’s my problem too; Starbucks offers such good discounts sometimes and once it’s over, you’re already addicted haha. I keep waiting for the next promo they have coming! But, I like your cold turkey idea. It’s probably best if Starbucks and I break up. We’ve had the weekend apart at least, and that might be the hardest part!

  3. Ahhh… I need to cut back on Starbucks too! I usually have it 3x a week and it’s draining my wallet.
    I love how fall is perfect for making huge batches of soup etc for zero effort meals all week ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Also, happy bloggie half birthday!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ lol
    I’m pretty sure our blogs are the same age!

  5. Happy blog anniversary! I love starbucks– it’s my weekly treat to myself– I get a Tea misto — earl grey tea with and inch of steamed skkim milk! Sooo good and cheap!!

  6. […] char on a mission Skip to content Homeaboutfoodgoalsread/watchweddingworkouts ← six months […]

  7. Hi,

    I hope you wont mind if I ask you to credit the source for your Birthday Sheepy image as our fine selves at http://www.SheepPooPaper.com or also http://www.CreativePaperWales.co.uk
    Its fine for you to use it but our IP rights in it require that we ask that it is acknowledged as our own design and trademark ๐Ÿ™‚ We call it Birthday Bleatings by the way :-))

    I have one with mistletoe in the pipes titled Kiss My Baaas . . .

    kindest regards – Lawrence

  8. […] was doing good with my consumption; I even set goals to keep my Starbucks spending in check, but somehow I still ended up with this little card – […]


Leave a Reply

