my school must haves + goals

I’m a pretty picky precise person – just ask the husband. So when I say my school must-haves, I mean my school must-haves. Here are the things I was all over for this year:

  • A new bag. I’m over the whole backpack thing and needed a more ‘grown-up’ bag (sorry little sis who was desperately trying to make me stick with a backpack!). A grown-up bag to me is a crossbody bag. When the husband asked me what kind of bag I wanted the convo went a little something like this:

Husband: What kind of bag do you want for school?

Me: Well, I kind of want something like a brown leather crossbody bag.

The husband laughs.

Me: What?

Husband: You said you ‘kind of’ wanted something and then just described the exact bag you wanted.

Oh brother 😛 I’m so indecisive that I can’t separate it from when I’m actually being decisive – how does he put up with me?!

I don’t know where I got the idea that I wanted that style of bag (read: I’m genius), so I googled it for images, and this was the first one that came up:


Naturally, I love Reese and since she was proof that the bag in my head was a rad idea (naturally), the hunt was on.

Here’s the one I ended up finding the day I started school. Talk about cutting it short!


It must have been meant to be or how else would I have conveniently found it in the last store I was stopping at before heading to school?! And, it passes the ‘laptop’ test (otherwise known as: laptop fits in it).


Next on the list…

  • Colourful folders. I don’t know why I’m such a sucker for these things, but I absolutely love them. Not even for just school, I used them for everything (it’s actually where our marriage certificate sat for a while – placed in the pink folder!)

  • Highlighters. So if you haven’t gathered by now that I’m a colour queen, then I’ll just send you my highlighted study notes and that should do the trick 😉

  • Sharpie pens. I think I tried these because my mom had them one time and instantly fell in love. I’m kinda pen-picky (new saying?), so when I find a good one, I tend to stick by it. Also, I prefer black to blue ink – I know by now you probably are thinking I’m the weirdest person you know…whythankyou.

  • A daytimer. Again, enter the weirdness – back when I was completing my first degree, I bought a daytimer from the university bookstore and it had a full page month map for each month.


This came in so handy for me (since I’m a visual person) to write down all my assignments/midterms/papers due each month and be able to see what was due when and how I would budget my time each month. I loved this monthly calendar page so much that I really didn’t settle for daytimer’s that didn’t have it, after that. So, of course, finding a daytimer I liked for this school year was tough, but alas, I found one:


Is still isn’t completely my style (ya, you wouldn’t chose that as the cover either), but it will do. I’m sure in time I’ll get over the flowers on every. single. page.


Why couldn’t they have at least made them stars?!

There you have it…that pretty much sums up my school must-haves!

This post wouldn’t be complete without listing some goals – these probably should be more picky than my school must-haves, but for some reason I have it all backwards!

Goals for school:

  • Never purchase any meals on campus. Always bring my own, unless I’m making a stop at Starbucks – that’s the only exception (isn’t it always!). This university has already taken enough money from me! Plus, where on campus would you be able to find a kick ass salad like this…

  • Try as hard as I must to guarantee 85% or higher for my GPA.
  • Use my time between classes to get work done.
  • Find at least two volunteer positions this year to build my resume.
  • Try to be sensible with the material I print (can I be honest with you? I’m a printing ski-zank…I tend to print anything and everything I think I might need – makes for an expensive ink cartridge bill!)

Questions of the day:

Are you picky about certain things like I am?

What was/is your fav subject in college or university?

 

3 Comments on “my school must haves + goals”

  1. I love that bag! And those sharpie pens are really the best!

    All these goals are awesome! 🙂 Good luck with meeting them all… although I’m sure the luck won’t be needed!!

  2. I have a weird office supply obsession. We are packing our house right now and my hubs went into my desk … he said I can’t buy pens for a year. HA.

    My favorite subjects in college were all sciences – I am working on going back to be a Physician Assistant. 🙂

    Good luck with school!!

  3. […] thanks to a fellow classmate. For once, I got to enjoy a hot meal without succumbing to one of my goal‘s I had set back in September, vowing to never purchase a meal on campus since they already […]


Leave a Reply

