buffalo getaway!

I find that getaways are always better when you really need them. And, even though the husband and I just road tripped together last weekend, we haven’t really had the chance for too many getaways this summer.

With school quickly approaching, I knew time was running out for one last quick trip. But, where?

Easy. The states. The shopping is way better, plus it’s fun to do, and we live in Southern Ontario, so super easy to get to. We started looking at hotel prices a few nights ago, since we knew that we had Sunday and Monday night free to go down. I found this in my junk mail while hotel searching:

Although it’s Niagara Falls, Canada, we decided this deal was too good to pass up, so the plan is: staying there tonight, then bright and early going over the border and staying at a hotel in Buffalo tomorrow night. From one hotel to the other is only 20 miles, so really, not a huge deal. But speaking of huge deal, how about that one ^^ above! It comes with a $40 voucher for the Keg, which we’ll eat at tonight. But, since I don’t eat meat, I’m thinking the hubby can have the whole $40 voucher, and even if I get a cheaper veggie dish from there, our bill won’t be that expensive! Also, comes with a $20 game card – you know where I’ll be tonight 🙂 and another $20 voucher to the Outback. So much food and fun, so little time!

The deal we got on the hotel in Buffalo was through Expedia, which I can’t take credit for finding; it was all my mom. See, she will also be staying there on Monday night with my siblings because they also need to do some back-to-school shopping (note: mine is more just shopping, but I did joke to the husband that I need a new lunch pale…he laughed). It will be nice to hook up with my fam after spending a night alone together!

Money is all switched over, now to make sure we have passports ready. Wouldn’t that be terrible if you forgot your passport and had to drive all the way back home to get it? If my brother-in-law is reading this, then he knows what I’m talking about, right D?? Which reminds me…I better go and find our passports.

And, found them! 🙂

Stores/places I need to visit in the states:

  • MAC – new bronzer, eye liner and we’ll see what else catches my eye 😉
  • Shoes – would love another pair of TOMS + one other pair (hopefully find a good deal)
  • Jeans – preferable Guess (skinny’s + boot cut)
  • Michael Kors – I’d love to find a deal on a shirt from here
  • Victoria’s Secret – $10 gift card which I want to put towards a new bra purchase *yeah yeah*
  • PF Changs for some sweet happy hour treats

I will actually take pictures this getaway and post them. Hope everyone enjoys the rest of the weekend and stays safe from Miss Irene, who seems to be affecting a lot of areas.

*****

Check out my ‘workouts’ section to see what I’ve done this week! Now what can I do to step it up next week?

4 Comments on “buffalo getaway!”

  1. I’ve been to Niagara Falls – but only stayed onthe US side. I’ve never been to your country. Haha.. your country.. that sounds weird! Have fun 🙂

  2. Have fun on your trip! The shopping should be especially fun 😉

  3. oooh im jealous & in need of a getaway!

  4. […] char on a mission Skip to content Homeaboutfoodgoalsread/watchweddingworkouts ← buffalo getaway! […]


Leave a Reply

