power up protein pancakes + running

Good morning! It’s Tuesday, but my brain swears it’s Friday. I don’t know how my body has convinced itself that it’s already in weekend mode, but I kinda like it. Maybe it will make me work harder today?

My day is starting off pretty good. After doing a nice run, I decided that instead of oatmeal, it was actually pancakes that I was craving. Now, since I feel like I don’t get enough protein in my daily eats, I knew I wanted to make protein pancakes. I honestly thought they would taste like crap (that often happens when I try to alter recipes), but luckily these ones turned out fab. So fab that I actually want to type out the recipe on here so I don’t forget. But, because I thought they would be a flop, no pictures were taken. You’ll just have to deal with the plain ol’ recipe today 🙂

Power Up Protein Pancakes

Serves 1 – 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/8 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used vanilla Sunwarrior)
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 mashed very ripe banana
  • 3-4 tbsp water (depending on desired consistency – mine were runnier)

Directions:
Combine all dry ingredients in a small bowl. Combine all wet ingredients in a small bowl. Next, add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and combine everything. Heat a large frying pan over medium heat, add some Earth Balance, then drop batter into frying pan to make pancakes!

I top mine with natural peanut butter and maple syrup, but if there’s another way you fancy – do that!

They were honestly just what I needed to make it through the morning! Especially after my run.

So about running…with my half marathon in just over a month (Sept 25th) I really feel like I need to start taking it more seriously. I’ve honestly been reading a lot about running half’s for a while and this is probably the closest I’ll come to following anything – even then, I’m more just using it for guidance and do whatever I feel like doing on that particular day. Bad, I know.

But still, without any specific training plans, my running time has definitely increased even since just a few months ago! Here were my paces for today:

I know they’re not amazing, but I love feeling like I’m running super slow, only to find out when I get home that the pace wasn’t that bad – take today for instance. After doing a workout yesterday, my legs were a little sluggish to start  running today (and actually lasted that way for a good chunk of the run), so it always feels nice knowing you’re running faster than you think you are. I’d much rather that than the other way around!

One thing I attribute to a good running pace: new shoes! I am in love with these shoes I just got. They are light, look good (yes, I need shoes that aren’t completely ugly) and comfy (no blisters – unlike when I got my first pair of Asics, which are suppose to be amazing running shoes).

Here they are:

 

It’s the New Balance 890. My last pair were New Balance too, which was also my first time ever wearing NB, and I liked those. I saw my new pair on a ‘suggested running shoe’ page and without thinking, just ordered. It was a good decision. I feel like I’m running on a cloud!

I think tomorrow is a non-running day and maybe just a workout or other sort of cardio.

Q: Do you think it’s important to follow a training plan for a half/full marathon? And if you do follow one, what do you do to ensure you stick to it!?

2 Comments on “power up protein pancakes + running”

  1. I semi-followed my training plan for my half – I actually got a respiratory infection like 2 weeks before it which totally threw off my plans. I was able to run the race comfortably but by no means did I have a decent time. HAHA.

    I think as long as you are getting your long runs in, you can adjust the plan throughout the rest of the week. Make sure you cross-train!! 🙂

    I will have to try your pancakes!

  2. […] char on a mission Skip to content Homeaboutfoodgoalsweddingworkouts ← power up protein pancakes + running […]


Leave a Reply

