playing catch up

Each week (when I work a crazy amount), I always feel like I’m playing catch up in the blogging world.

Catching up on my Google Reader.

Catching up on writing posts.

Catching up on commenting on blogs/responding to comments on my blog.

I don’t wanna play catch up anymore! And, I’m sorry…I don’t mean to complain, but I’m having a hard time balancing these things in my life right now and I want to become better at it.

Working 40, 50, 60+ hour weeks just somehow allow me to become completely unbalanced and unfortunately, blogging is the one suffering.

Q: How do you guys do it? How do you balance everything?!

11 Comments on “playing catch up”

  1. Char! I am SO sorry you are working so much! I feel you on the catch up game! I can’t imagine working 60 hour weeks!

    When I am not around the computer for a while.. and say.. my reader is up to 140+ … I usually don’t play catch up because it is too overwhelming. I might pick a few posts to read.. but I usually just mark all as read.

    As for posts… I try to get a lot set up on the weekend. I know these posts won’t talk about my day – but I have free time on Sundays – so I will write 2-4 posts and schedule them.

    Hope life calms down for you!!!

    • That’s a great idea…that’s exactly what I need to do, have a bunch lined up. I have a few started, but I haven’t been able to complete them because of the craziness. I keep telling myself it’s temportary and life will get back on track soon!

  2. Presley says:

    Sorry you are so busy lately!

    I agree with marking most things as read… There are a few blogs that I’ll read everything they’ve posted since I’ve been gone, but for the most part I can’t catch up! But I always feel like I’m going to miss something 😦

    And I have absolutely no advice on how to write posts during the week. At least not good ones, anyway. Mine are quick little recaps… I need to work on content. Basically, I feel like I don’t share anything really worth reading. (Is it bad to admit that? Probably.)

  3. It’s really hard working so much & posting & then commenting on other posts! I try really hard to get a post up each day, but I usually don’t get around to reading my favourite blogs until nighttime and by that time, I just forget to comment because there’s so much to catch up on!
    I love the blogging world, but I agree that we place some kind of pressure on ourselves to keep up withe everyone & everything.

  4. Kris says:

    I understand your pain in this post girl!! I balance by creating lists every stinking day!! When working from home and running businesses it gets overwhelming to keep up on even the blog and friends! I schedule, schedule schedule!

    xxoo

  5. Sometimes you just got to take a step back and let it slide for a bit – I think anyone would feel a little out of balance working as much as you have!

    But when I was working full-time I scheduled my day and included the things I wanted to get done like blog, work-out, work, etc. I found that putting it to paper during “time-slots” helped me stay on task. It did get a little rigid though!

  6. I was in a similar position before with my life being hectic working, house, kids, etc. Here is what I decided – quality vs. quantity. I would rather have a couple of good quality posts than try to post something every single day. That was I know that my readers are getting good info, even if it is only a couple a week.

    As for the catch up on posts thing. I have a few blogs that I will catch up on because I have formed a “personal” relationship with the writer. The others I have to let go at times. I read all when I can, but I try not to stress over it when I can’t. Hope this helps 🙂

  7. Tiff says:

    I read when I can, but I still usually find time to write. It can be a form of stress relief for me. I commute 2+ hours per day, workout before work, and work 40 hours per week. I don’t think I could do it though if I worked more than 40 or 45.

  8. If I don’t get to blogging, I d0n’t worry about it. 🙂 It’s a hobby, not a top priority for me. Maybe that’s the wrong attitude!


Leave a Reply

