overactive brain

Ok first off, I’d like to say that it’s haaaard getting a post in between work and life sometimes! I thought summer would be better for getting blog stuff accomplished, but apparently not!

This is the one (and only) full week I’m working at my parents work, plus putting in hours at my other job for a grand total of 60+ hours of work this week. Sunday cannot come soon enough! I honestly can’t remember the last time I worked 40 hours a week, let alone 60 – if I never blog again, you’ll know why.

Ok now onto the brain.

[Source]

Does anyone else have an overactive brain? I mean really overactive?

Today mine, yet again, proved how overactive it is. You see, I have this built-up fear of needles and pretty much pain in general. I have not had a needle in over 10 years, but was due for a tetanus shot. Do you see where this is going?

Did I also mention how I faint easily because of my overactive brain?

First cavity. Faint.

Optometrist appointment – eye drops to dilate pupils. Faint.

Parents getting pinprick to check glucose levels. Faint.

Getting a tetanus shot/first needle in 10 years. Faint…naturally.

I won’t even talk about how I fainted on my honeymoon. That’s another post.

My fear of everything pain (minus dilated pupils, yes I’m weird) makes my brain go into overdrive and then it eventually catches up with me, causing me to feel nauseous, light-headed, sick, see spots, sweat, become pale and basically just a wreck!

It was no different today. Thank goodness my hubby was with me, or else I would have been chilling out at my doctor’s office all day!

After a little pass out session (which involved a lot of head between the knees), sweating, feeling like I was going to be sick, getting up to lie down on the table, drinking a high-sugar juice (it had to be done!) and going green in the face, I was good to go.

I’m just thankful that the Nurse Practitioner said that I won’t need one for another 10 years.

I guess we’ll have to see what happens when we start having kids…yikes!

Q: Is there anything that makes your brain overreact? Have you ever had any awesome faint sessions like me?

 

10 Comments on “overactive brain”

  1. I definitely do that every time I have to give blood. Shots make me a little lightheaded, but giving blood brings out the full-on faint. Even thinking too much about it makes me feel a bit loopy!

  2. I faint every time I give blood unless I’m lying down and they give me juice afterward. I hate giving blood. Sometimes I faint just seeing blood. Whoo…

  3. Since starting my internship I’ve been having such issues balancing my life… I guess it will all get worked out! Sounds like you had a busy busy day.

  4. A few months ago, my life was suuuper busy! But it’s getting back to normal again… until August when I’ll have a classroom of 4th graders. Hey, at least I got a little break 🙂

    I’ve only ever fainted from the heat… Sorry you have such a bad time with it, that sounds terrible!!

  5. Jenny says:

    I had a faint spell before and it was horrible!! 😦

  6. Awww poor girl! I have gone through this SO many times! I even had to sometimes take valium. Now that I am preggers and have to have a lot blood taken I am actually getting better!

    • So you ARE getting better with blood? Because I joked to the nurse about what’s going to happen when I start having kids. I hope I get better with it, too. Hey, at least it was good practice for my hubby when we have kids – he was rubbing my back and helping me walk hahah

  7. Tiff says:

    I have fainted a couple times, but it’s generally a mix of heat and nerves. I was worried I’d faint at my wedding – thank goodness it didn’t happen! Good luck with having kids (whenever that may be) – that freaks me out too!

  8. […] hate needles. Or rather, the thought of needles. They make me faint. So when I put off getting one for almost three weeks, the idea of actually getting it today […]


Leave a Reply

