my ‘long’ weekend

The weekend has felt kind of long to me since my hubby has had to work the whole thing! Hopefully by next summer we’ll get to enjoy the benefits of summer together. But for now, he works his bum off and I’m so proud of him!

Between me working and him working it’s a shock that we actually see each other, but we did – on Friday night, at least!

Friday:

Tyler got a gift certificate for his birthday from my mom for this awesome local pub, that we actually fell in love with on my birthday, so we went there on Friday night.

They just put on a new deck addition on, so you know where we were sitting. There was live entertainment; a lady performing on the guitar. Now, I’m not sure who brings a bird to a pub, but one man did, and placed it on the singer at one point.

It was actually pretty funny, because the bird would slide down the strap and stare at her, like above. I admit, I would be a little freaked out if I was trying to perform and someone put a bird on my shoulder…you never know what could happen!

On to dinner…it was awesome! We both had the special’s that night; I had the ‘catch of the day’ and Tyler had the ‘surf and turf.’

I forgot what fish it was (d’oh!), but it was SO tender and delicious. It was topped off with a mango sauce, side veggies and hard wheatberry salad.

Tyler’s was a pasta dish with beef tenderloin, shrimp and scallops in a cream sauce. I only had a small bite of a scallop and it was good!

Saturday:

Saturday was chill central…maybe a little too chill. Since Tyler was at work, again, I didn’t have a lot of motivation to do much of anything. I did make it to some grocery stores, but other than that, I was a lost cause!

While I was waiting for Tyler to drive home from work last night, I happened to notice this sweet storm a brewin’.

What caught my attention, was this sky:

Aren’t the lingering clouds crazy?!

The sky continued to get crazier. While raining, this is what I saw!

Possible UFO sighting? haha

Only a few more crazy sky pics! So bright in one spot and dark in another…

The sky went pinkish/purple when lightening struck.

Can you even tell that’s it lightening or raining for that matter when the sky looks so neat?!

Sunday:

Husband’s working ALL day today, so I went for a run today (ran 5.92 miles – wish I woulda made it to 6!) despite the hot, hot weather. There was a bit of wind for the first part of my run, but then it went away…turning me into a tomato!

Before I took my red-self home, I made a quick stop at the health food store, and I’m so glad I did. Picked up some local organic strawberries for only $1.50. Total steal!

Once I was home, I made an acai and mixed berry smoothie.

Showering should have taken priority, but smoothies clearly come first!

And that’s my ‘long’ weekend in a nutshell.

How did you spend your Canada Day or Fourth of July weekend?

9 Comments on “my ‘long’ weekend”

  1. We had the most insane storm in Windsor ever last night! That sky looks scary too :/
    I, unfortunately, spent my long weekend on a train on Friday, working last night during the crazy storm & I’m working again today. I spent today doing laundry (YAY).. so no long weekend fun fest for me 😦 but responsibilities are calling!
    I am loving all the local fruit too! It’s so much cheaper and so much more authentic tasting!

  2. Whoa check out that sky! My weekend wasn’t totalllllly lazy… just today. I’ve done literally nothing but go to church, buy food for the 4th of july, come home and eat the ice cream I bought, and nap. Productive? Yep.

  3. Cait's Plate says:

    Wow that sky is seriously crazy!! What is up with Mother Nature this year!? I spent my long weekend with my adorable nieces, my sister, brother-in-law and my mom 🙂 It was so perfect!

  4. I love thunderstorms! As long as I am inside and they are not TOO intense.
    And I looove fresh strawberries in the summa.

    Both of your dinners look pretty amazing…and that looks like a really cool place to eat!

  5. Jenny says:

    Wow it’s so dark!! Pretty scary I gotta say. My bf works all weekend too so it sucks 😦

  6. Ronald Weiner says:

    Berries on a straw? There is a legend that strawberries were named in the nineteenth-century by English children who picked the fruit, strung them on grass straws and sold them as “Straws of berries”. Another theory is the name was derived from the nineteenth-century practice (ands still today, although most farms use raised beds, enclosed in plastic) of placing straw around the growing berry plants to protect the ripening fruit. But the most widely held view is that the name Strawberry was derived from the berries that are “strewn” about on the plants, and the name “strewn berry” eventually morphed into “Strawberry”.

    I love Strawberries too!!

  7. tricia says:

    scary sky!

    I started off yesterday with a stellar run, got in some pool time, a nap (yippee) and then fireworks

  8. I love a good storm! We never get summer storms in Cali..bummer!

    I spent my weekend with my best friend in Lake Tahoe on the beach..so nice!

  9. great shots of the sky!

    last post, granola, mmmm goood!

    comment to me re all your moves…you are a trooper girl!


Leave a Reply

