i love granola

Granola, where have you been all my life?!

I know you’ve pretended to be all healthy and good, down the cereal aisle – you looked like you were healthy – but you do not compare to the granola I’m talking about.

You see, the granola I’m talking about, doesn’t come from a box.

Or a plastic bag.

Or even the grocery store, for that matter.

It comes from me. Your all-mighty creator.

Why I had ever bought pre-made granola before is beyond me. Never again.

Easy Amazing Granola

 So easy and delicious that you’ll forget you were the one who made it.

Yields: ~4 cups

Ingredients:

Dry:
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin [pepita] seeds
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
Wet:
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (I used just under 1/4 because I’m not a fan of using oils to bake/cook)
Add-in’s after bake time:
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1.5 tbsp hemp seeds

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400F.
2. Combine all your dry ingredients in a large bowl.
3. Place coconut oil in a small bowl, microwave to liquify, then add maple syrup and mix.
4. Add wet to dry ingredients and combine.
5. Place mixture on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

6. Bake for 20-25 mins. Stirring mixture once, halfway through.
7. Take note of the awesome transformation that’s happened.

Enjoy on it’s own or with almond milk – which is the bomb diggity.

You could also add some…

Crispy Apple Slices

Ingredients:

  • One apple (I used organic fuji)
  • 1/8 cup agave nectar
  • sprinkles of cinnamon

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400F.
2. De-core and thinly slice apple.
3. In a small bowl mix apple slices with agave nectar.
4. Place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

5. Sprinkle slices with cinnamon (according to your liking).
6. Bake for 40-45 mins. Make sure you check on them frequently – change from looking undercooked to brown very quickly (mine were more on the brown/overcooked side).

The apple will come out nice and crispy. The cool part about them was while they were still hot, they would feel like they weren’t crispy, but once you put them in your mouth, they would immediately crispify (new word?). Crumble these bad boys up and add them to your granola – so now you have two different kinds to inhale enjoy.

Like I said, I love granola.

The nutritional stats are lovable, too.

Nutrition Facts 

  12 Servings

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 208.1
  Total Fat 11.8 g
  Saturated Fat 5.8 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 3.6 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 2.0 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 10.9 mg
  Potassium 236.0 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
  Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
  Sugars 10.2 g
  Protein 4.0 g
  Vitamin A 0.1 %
  Vitamin B-12 0.0 %
  Vitamin B-6 5.0 %
  Vitamin C 0.5 %
  Vitamin D 0.0 %
  Vitamin E 8.6 %
  Calcium 5.9 %
  Copper 20.9 %
  Folate 6.8 %
  Iron 12.9 %
  Magnesium 19.9 %
  Manganese 99.7 %
  Niacin 3.4 %
  Pantothenic Acid     5.7 %
  Phosphorus     22.3 %
  Riboflavin 3.5 %
  Selenium 4.1 %
  Thiamin 16.2 %
  Zinc 15.7 %
12 Comments on “i love granola”

  1. Char that granola looks SOOOOO good. I am totally going to make it soon!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I always want to make granola.. but then I get too lazy… 😦

  2. losangelas says:

    thanks all-mighty creator for this healthy breakfast recipe.!!!

  3. This looks great! I always sprinkle cinnamon on my apples but have never thought to bake them as well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.. I will definitley be checking this out!

  4. I had some granola cereal for breakfast the other day while staying on a college campus for a camp and wondered if I could find a recipe to make real, healthy granola. I log on wordpress the day after I get back and find this! It looks amazing. I will definitely have to try it.

  5. Katie says:

    Looks so good love!! I say the burnt apples would still be yummy!!

    Hope you are well! I have missed u!!!

  6. Oh my goodness. I NEED to make my own granola. I’m definitely going with the coconut flakes & maybe some dried cranberries! And I will never buy the processed granola or “healthy-looking” granola. I only buy the ones with minimal ingredients but I am never wary of things I make in my own kitchen. You make this look so easy!

  7. Oh yum oh yum oh yum!! This looks so wonderful!

  8. this looks delicious nothing better than homemade granola I actually just made some today!!

  9. […] Granola with almond milk […]


Leave a Reply

