picky eater alert

I love food. Let’s not be confused that I stick to the same foods week after week…this is not true. But, for the foods that I do stick to, I’m picky.

I’m a picky Mickey.

There, I admitted it.

So if I’m picky with the same great foods, how does that not make me picky?

I’m glad you asked!

It’s really quite simple, you see. My staples each week include:

  • apples
  • bananas
  • avocados
  • mixed salad greens/spinach for salads
  • nuts – almonds & walnuts
  • seeds – chia, sunflower, flax & pumpkin
  • berries – strawberries, blueberries and raspberries (since they’re usually on sale around this time)
  • watermelon
  • beans – black, chickpeas & kidney
  • peanut butter
  • maple syrup
  • oats
  • raisins

To name a few…

I’d also like to add in: grapes, nectarines, peaches, melons, pineapple, cherries, peppers, and lots of great others, but they’re the, ‘I’ll get them when they’re on sale’ type (it’s great when it’s summer because these practically become staples).

The ‘on sale’ ones make me especially picky.

I’ll give you a brief run through of how my pickyness comes into play while choosing foods – ie: the food qualifications. And I admit, it’s more fruit that I’m picky with than veggies.

Grapes

Now I can tell right away, from this picture, that I would enjoy these grapes.
Qualifications: Grapes must be super hard, small and round (not those big oval ones…you know which ones I mean!); from this, they should be nice and sour.

Blueberries

Qualifications: Hard as well, lighter in colour, non-mushy; from this, they should take on a sour flavour.

Notice the theme here? Sour patch kids have never phased me…just saying!

Bananas

Qualifications: It’s a must to have green somewhere on the banana (no green = no go with me, unless they’ve been sitting on my counter for a while, then in that case, I wait for them to brown right up for use in banana bread). I like the taste and texture of bananas with green on them + not as much sugar is released into them while they’re still green.

Avocado

Qualifications: Not too hard and not too mushy. Too hard means a hassle getting out the skin and too mushy means browning around the edges and has overly smooth avocado taste, almost too much.

These are just a few of my qualifications, but I think you get the gist!

The qualifications for veggies aren’t as high (sorry fruits!) because mainly as long as they’re not soft and squishy or wilted, means it’s still good to eat/cook with.

And now I sound like a fruit diva…oh boy!

I’m sure we all have our little food quirks when it comes to what we eat. Or maybe it’s just me… :S

Maybe next time I’ll do a redemption post on how I actually choose fruits – ie: the techniques to picking some good stuff (and by that I mean peak of consumption, so that it’s ready to eat) 😉

But for now, I’m going to leave you with another what I’m loving at this moment segment…

I’m loving it!

Q: What are your food qualifications? And, what are some of your favourite eats?

I love pomegranates!! Also, very hooked on apples topped with peanut butter and a drizzle of maple syrup!

11 Comments on “picky eater alert”

  1. My food cannot be mushy, and it cannot be too hard.
    I love peanut butter and strawberries. I’ve never had them together, but that sounds like it would be good. Chocolate and peanut butter covered strawberries. I love all fruits.
    Yay for being picky, by the way.

  2. I not picky at all when it comes to food. I think it’s just how I was raised. My parents didn’t let me be picky. I have to agree with blueberries though. I won’t eat them if they’re too soft and mushy. If they are, I just freeze them and use them for my smoothies! 🙂

  3. We are going to be really paying extra for all our fruit and veggies this summer. When you see them on sale grab them.

  4. I can’t do mushy stuff. The large oval grapes are awful to me too!

    And did you know you can peel an avocado after slicing it in half so you don’t have to try to scoop it out? Soooo much easier! Works every time.

  5. Katie says:

    Apples every day for me! I feel incomplete without one! ha!

    I love frozen grapes, I only really ever eat them frozen!

    I always have to have spinach, hummus, almond milk, veggies, oats, fruits, and Im sure a lot I ma not mentioning but those are a few!

    love u!

  6. Tiff says:

    Haha. I guess I’m just a human garbage disposal. I eat everything! I’m super into peaches right now. Soooo good!

  7. This cracks me up because I’m very much the same. I like nectarines to be mostly hard with just a touch of softness so that they will be nice and crunchy. I never buy bread items if the “use by” date is within 2 days because I’ll never eat it in time. Spaghetti squash must be symmetrical and football size — no bigger, no smaller.

  8. kate says:

    I always say im not picky but I dont eat meat, eggs, or dairy so I guess I kinda am… I love your stash, avocados are my favorite!


Leave a Reply

