feeling fine on friday!

Everyone should be feeling fine since it’s Friday! I don’t work this weekend – it’s the first in four that I don’t – so I took the time and headed out for a nice long run today. The temperature was perfect (sunny and 21 degrees C vs. on Monday when I went, it was 27 degrees C). Here’s my summary:

I swear when I was mapping the route, another website said 5.5 miles…but I guess I can’t be too picky if that site was correct, since it’s only off by 0.1 of a mile.

When I got back it was time for some abs – my much neglected abs needed some loving today.

Friday ab burner!

Basic plank

[Source]

  • Hold for 60 seconds

Side plank


[Source]

  • Do 20 reps

The sprinter

[Source]

Targets upper and lower abs and obliques

Lie on your back with your hands at your sides, legs straight, and heels hovering about six inches off the floor (A). Start sitting up while elevating your left arm with the elbow bent so it resembles a sprinter’s pumping motion. At the peak of the situp, bring your right knee to your chest (B). Return to start, keeping your legs raised, and repeat with the opposite arm and leg. That’s one rep.

Perfect Form Control your movement through the entire exercise, bracing your core to keep pressure off your back.

  • Do 2 sets of 10
V-sits

  • Hand on floor behind you – legs out then in  counts as one rep. Do 20 reps

Seated medicine ball twists

 

[Source]

  • Holding a medicine ball (between 6 – 10 lbs, I used an 8), with feet lifted off ground, twist to the right, then twist to the left – that’s one rep. Do 20 reps

After that, I made a fail smoothie. Since recently getting the new vegan protein powder, I haven’t really experimented with it yet. I realize now that I put way to much protein powder in for the volume of smoothie I was making; it totally took over the smoothie…and not in a good way. But since it looked pretty, I have to show:

It was suppose to taste like mango peach coconut, but instead tasted like powdered vanilla protein powder – I do not joke! And I was very disappointed since I wanted something fresh and fruity to match the temp outside!

Now, I need to go get more coconut milk before I can try again. After the smoothie fail, I decided to have a Larabar instead and bake some red potatoes.

I’ve been addicted to these potatoes lately, so I can’t wait until they’re nice and cooked. I will post the recipe later 🙂

It’s time to shower, then venture to the grocery store and hopefully the hubby will be home from work by then!

Q: What are your plans for the weekend?

I cannot wait for the Farmer’s Market tomorrow and hopefully, if the weather permits, I’d love to do a hike on Sunday!

9 Comments on “feeling fine on friday!”

  1. That smoothie does look good, it’s funny how looks can be deceiving.
    I like your ab burner routine, I will try that tonight.
    Where abouts do you go hiking?

  2. That defintely looks like a great ab workout! Awesome job on the run! It is so weird to see you write your temps in C … even though the US is the only place that doesn’t… I get so confused!

    This weekend.. we aren’t up to much.. getting new curtains. FUN!

    • It took me a while to convert to US temps (the hubby helped me with that one ;)). So I kinda use this as my “guide”:
      90 = 35ish
      70 = 20-25
      50 = 10-12 degrees -> legit had to ask my hubby about that one just now haha

  3. i find that any amt of prot powder instantly changes the flavoring of smoothies which is why for my recent half dozen that ive blogged about…just fruit…no p.p.

    It sure LOOKS pretty though!

  4. That ab workout looks killer. I’m gonna have to try it.

  5. I ❤ planks & weight twists 🙂

  6. Nice Blog !!! your the best

  7. Hard Bass says:

    Thanks for some great information reagrding this


Leave a Reply

