what makes me happy

I know there are good days and bad, but it’s really about what you make of the day. You could be having an utterly amazing day until something small happens that turns your mood around; or your day could be crap-tastic until some small thing makes you smile and *boom* your mood is transformed.

So really…it’s all about what you make of it.

Everybody could have a good day if they choose, and everybody can have a bad day if they choose…key words: if they choose.

I’m kind of a sucker for sweating the small stuff, which is why I’m trying to take on a new frame of mind – everything is awesome!

‘Awesome’ is totally my new word. He’s awesome. She’s awesome. Everybody is awesome! If by me telling someone that they are awesome on the day that happens to be crappy for them, and that’s the little thing that turns it around, then I’m doing exactly what I would want someone to do for me if I was in their place.

Which brings me to why I am having an awesome day – and not just because I made it that way! 😉

I read blogs this morning. I love waking up and seeing what’s new in the blogging world! Living through other people is totally something I like to do – hello Us Weekly and pretending like Cameron Diaz is my workout partner…not Alex’s!

I went to the naturopath. My mom had an appointment and asked if I wanted to tag along – I never skip the opportunity to go to the naturopath (super nerd yet again, I know!). I really wanted to go because since turning away from meats, with the exception of some fish and perhaps bison (haven’t ate it in a while, but I’m totally not turning down one of those this summer!), I wanted to make sure my supplements were in order.

Here’s what she suggested I take (and I’ve actually been doing pretty good!):

  • Iron
  • B12 (+ folic acid)
  • Vegan protein powder


The only thing I had to pick-up was the protein powder, as I already had the other two. I take other nutritional supplements along with these for my health, but these are the ones I wanted to focus on finding out from her.

I went for lunch with my mom. Since newly veg, I haven’t really eaten out much and was a little scared what the menu would look like. Luckily, I found a veggie burger on there and was totally feeling like one, so that’s what I got.

Excuse the bad colouring from my camera phone in a darkly-lit pub!

It was great – it had zucchini and grated carrots in it, topped with fried onions and hummus, plus a side salad! I skipped the bun and the gross sweet pickle on top of the bun…I’m all about the dill, instead!

I made dough balls. After reading Averie’s post this morning, she reposted her dough balls as a ‘not new’ recipe, but a good one. Seeing dough balls all over the blogging world, that did it for me, and I knew it was time to finally make my own.

PB Oatmeal Choco-chip dough balls


Slight variation on Averie’s, but not by much!

  • 1/2 cup smooth natural organic PB
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp vegan protein powder (or any protein powder – I used vanilla flavoured)
  • Just under 1/3 cup of rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Combine everything, except the chocolate chips until a dough forms, then add in the chocolate chips and roll into balls!

Good as the real thing! Thanks for the recipe, Averie!! Next is soooo Mama Pea’s dough balls!

I get to go to a job I love. I work in long-term care as a dietary aide for the dementia unit. I love the people and getting to interact with the residents, even if it is just while clearing their meals after dinner. This is how I know I want to work in the nutrition industry.

Well, I’m off to get ready for work – dinner needs to be served 😉

Q: What helps you turn your day into a wonderful one?

14 Comments on “what makes me happy”

  1. Oooo A naturopath … that soudns super interesting. I would love to ge tto one of those

    The best way to turn my day around.. is an old fashioned sweat session!!

  2. I’m glad you liked the balls! They look great 🙂

  3. short comment, im on an airplane right now!

  4. That’s great that you’re having an awesome day! Mine’s been pretty good as well. Those dough balls look really tasty! Last weekend I tried Angela’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls from “Oh She Glows” and they we’re really good! I’ll have to give these a try next.

  5. I dance. Or, if I feel really bad I read blogs and my absolute favorite is watch adorable cat videos on YouTube.

  6. Katie says:

    Those yummy balls look so good!!!!!!!

    I love reading blogs in the morning! I eat breakfast while I read!

    Happy Weekend love! xoxo ❤

  7. I love those dough balls! And you’re right “but it’s really about what you make of the day” SO TRUE!

  8. You can do 10 positive/amazing things in a day and if 1 negative thing happens thats ALL you can focus on. Instead accept that it happened and let it go. The best way to be happy is to be free of feeling weighed down.
    I enjoy nature, the outdoors, animals, and a sweet snack never hurts !
    Enjoy the weekend 🙂

  9. Great attitude!

    I fake it til I make it and try to smile and laugh to get to a better mood. It ends up working!

  10. […] char on a mission Skip to content HomeaboutweddingWHTworkouts ← what makes me happy […]

  11. […] changes: So far, I feel fantastic. I’ve made sure to include the right supplements so that I have the energy and nutrients I need for my […]


Leave a Reply

