lentil lovin’

Oh, sweet lentils. I started thinking about you on my six mile run today. I began asking myself how I could use you in a quick lunch recipe that would taste delicious and give me the post-run boost I needed. I also starting thinking about what you would pair up nicely with. Then you spoke to me, with your sweet green colour and said curry. So I listened, and came up with something that totally left my belly feeling happy.

Curried Lentils

Makes 2-3 servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of lentils (or prepare your own – time crunch = canned!)
  • 1/2 large sweet onion, diced
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2-3 collard green leaves, cut into thin slices
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • EVOO, salt and pepper (according to liking)
  • Greek yogurt
  • Fresh cilantro
Directions:
1. On medium-high heat, heat a large frying pan. Once heated, add EVOO, onion, carrot and pepper. Cook until tender (4-5 mins)
2. Add prepared lentils to pan.
3. Add in all spices and mix together.
4. In the last few minutes, add collard greens.

5. Once everything has cooked, transfer to a bowl, put a dollop of Greek yogurt on with some chopped cilantro.

It really is that easy and tastes amazing! It sure hit the spot with the hubby 😉

After that boost, I headed to work for some more training (and luckily it doesn’t end there – one more training day tomorrow). The girl I was working with was awesome. A lot of little things to remember, but that’s why I had that trusty lentil lunch to help me! I better stop talking about them, it’s making me want some!

Q: What’s your favourite thing to pair with lentils?

4 Comments on “lentil lovin’”

  1. paijery says:

    I looooove lentils and curry but never thought about pairing them together! Brilliant! I usually just eat mine in soup or in pasta sauce!

  2. Ellen says:

    Just stumbled on your blog…seems like we have a lot in common! I just finished my first yr at Ryerson ( 2nd degree) for food and nutrition so I can totally understand your stresses with chem…its a pain!!! Where abouts are you going next yr?

    • char says:

      I’m trying for Guelph. I woulda applied to Ryerson as well, but I missed the deadline by accident (oops!) and am pretty set on Guelph, assuming they let me in! lol


Leave a Reply

