soup day

I wish I could say that Earth Day/Good Friday entailed awesome weather here, but sadly, it didn’t. Oh well, you move on and make the best of it. I started the day off right with another bowl of PB & J oats…seriously, how CAN you get enough?

It fills you up and taste SO good. I want more just writing about it!

I feel so unorganized lately and feel like I’m constantly struggling – struggling to fit some time in to get chemistry done (goal is to be done and start studying for my final exam by Sunday), read blogs (hardly a struggle, I know), make some awesome meals in the kitchen and do the little things on my to do list. I had either a blond moment today or an “I’ve lost track of where I am and what’s going on” moment when I started to leave my house today to run some errands. Good thing I didn’t get far before I realized, “hey, it’s Good Friday – everything is closed!” I quickly turned around and decided to make the soup I had planned to make many a few  days earlier.

I had already wanted to use quinoa in a soup, and Chelsey pushed me to do it…so I did it, I made a vegetable soup with quinoa.

I’ll post the recipe tomorrow because I’m exhausted tonight and I don’t know why! Let’s just say it was delish…tons of veggies (onion, snow peas, zucchini, tomaters, carrots, red pepper, celery, spinach; basically a small vegetable village!) and obviously quinoa.

The thing I love most about soup, is not how it’s the easiest way to add spinach to a dish, because it basically cooks itself and allows you to put a dent in the big container you bought for some reason.

Also, not because it smells as good as it tastes. Or is pipin’ hot, yet so so good in your mouth.

But because, you are provided with a ton of leftovers that are good for freezing or eating an hour later the next day.

The one with the red lid is successfully in the freezer so we can enjoy it next week! Now, they look small, but trust me, they hold a lot. Did I mention that I would love a good camera and perhaps some 3D love so you can really get a feel for what I mean?! Someone pass the camera message onto the husband :D?? K, thanks!

Later in the day, we went to the hubby’s sister’s place for a nice din with all his family. The hubby had a super long day at work, so we decided to leave a bit earlier tonight and rest up so we could enjoy the day with them tomorrow all that much better! We got a little loot bag on our way out and was pretty happy to discover that we got some mini eggs, because I totally made a comment on the drive over that I wanted some. Guess the Easter Bunny read my mother-in-law’s mind!!!

Q: What are your Easter plans this weekend? What does the Easter Bunny bring you, if he still visits haha?

Leave a Reply

