smoothies and iced coffee

There are a lot of issues I could address right now…

Like our stove cutting out mid preheat and never regaining life, forcing us to not prepare any cooked or baked meals for the past few days;

Or the temperature ‘feeling like’ 29 degrees C (or 84 degrees for the USAers) at 8am, with humidity of 70% for the day, with no pool insight;

Or starting a new addiction to iced coffee since hot tea just doesn’t sound so appealing when dealing with the above temperature.

Yes, these are all things I could go on about for (let’s face it) days, but instead I’ll leave my resentment where it belongs…in the lifeless oven.

Instead, I’m going to talk about some of the things that make the above issues bearable. Minus the new coffee addiction, because bearable is nowhere close to what that iced coffee is doing for me – it’s fixing issues and starting new ones!

My lack of work (17.5 hours this week, whaddup!), has caused me to look for other options to fill my free time. I don’t know if you’re like me, but if I’m working, I wanna work. So, only having 17 and a half hours to fill up my time is making me a little crazy.

I had been given the opportunity to pick up some hours at a local smoothie shop (I know the owner and she’s awesome), so I said yes with no hesitation!

Making ice-cold smoothies in the heat (fighting issue #2…check!) and getting a hopped up smoothie at the end of shift to combat hunger (sayonara stove!) are both no-brainers for some extra work. Not only is working in a smoothie shop super sweet, but totally helps with my foodie identification (open a smoothie shop…new goal?). The owner asked if I wanted to come back on Thursday; you know my answer…

Yesterday I walked out after work with this sweet concoction:

  • peach & apricot base
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1/2 tbsp maca powder
  • 1 full scoop of protein powder
  • 1 tsp bee pollen
  • a little splash of rice milk
  • lots o’ ice

Blend. Enjoy. Drink responsibly. 

It was perfect for the hot, hot heat! Unfortunately, having finished work at 2pm meant I still had to think up something to prepare for dinner.

I had rinsed some black beans the other day in hopes of making a cold black bean salad (cause really, what other options am I left with…). So I traced back to what ingredients I was missing in order to make the salad, and headed to the grocery store to nab them.

And here you have it.

Black Bean and Corn Salad with Lime

Taken from here.

  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen corn, thawed
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped (or go crazy like me and add more!)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Combine all together.

It was good, but totally should have adapted it.

Next time I would:

  • add mango
  • add avocado (this is a must in my opinion)
  • remove the oregano – reminds me too much of Greek, and with the black beans I think it should be more Mexican-y, and maybe even remove the basil
  • keep the cumin, and add some chili powder and go in that direction

It still was pretty good, just not my cup of tea for flavouring with the veggies and beans that went into the dish.

Speaking of tea, I totally ditched it for iced coffee instead. I’m a tea girl, but something about this heat made me think coffee today. Iced coffee. Then it was confirmed that this is what I must make when Julie briefly spoke about it in her post. Sign from the Coffee Gods!

Move over tea, coffee is here temporarily to stay! When your first attempt at iced coffee (and pretty much coffee in general – seriously didn’t know how much to put in to properly brew a good batch…scary, I know) taste this good, you know you have a new addiction coming on.

I used Nabob Medium Roast Breakfast Blend which is Rainforest Alliance Certified.

In a glass, I filled most of it with ice, pour coffee in (about 80% of glass), topped it off with some original coconut milk and a tsp of natural cane sugar.

It was delish to say the least. And I’m actually tempted to have a second glass before work. Now if I only had a pool to distract me from iced coffee, we’d be laughing.

I’ll be back later with my WHT! It’s a childhood one!

9 Comments on “smoothies and iced coffee”

  1. Blonde on a Mission says:

    I have fallen in love with iced coffee just recently! I like to use the Nescafe Hazelnut instant coffee with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. I bought a cute tumbler from Starbucks for it too :) and I want to try maca in my smoothies, I’ve heard a lot about it. Excuse to go to Whole Foods :) can’t wait for the WHT! I love reminiscing on childhood things haha

  2. The smoothie and salsa look awesome! I’ve yet to try an avocado in my smoothie but I’d like to!

  3. Cait's Plate says:

    I totally support your iced coffee addiction! It’s the best on these hot summer days, I don’t know what I’d do without mine each morning :)

  4. Jenny says:

    The black bean and corn salad look super yummy. I have yet to make iced coffee! I need to get on it asap, it’s way too hot out

  5. I love your coffee I usually make iced at home its so much cheaper…that salad omg looks amazing I LOVE black beans!

  6. Hope that your stove gets fixed ASAP!

    Working at a smoothie bar.. would probably get me in a lot of trouble! I’d be getting like.. 10 a shift.

    And I agree with everyone else.. that salad looks amazzzzing!

  7. [...] char on a mission Skip to content HomeaboutgoalsweddingWHTworkouts ← smoothies and iced coffee [...]

  8. Ashley says:

    I really need to try the avo in the smoothie trick!

  9. [...] to stay, but now it’s time to get my body moving again, and keep up with the day. At least my slight addiction to iced coffee isn’t suffering from [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers